Darkstars Fantasy News


5. Februar 2016

LGBT Fantasy Bücher 2016

Category: News – Darkstar – 08:00

RegenbogenfahneIch hab mich im Netz mal umgeschaut, auf was für Phantastik-Romane mit queeren Figuren wir uns 2016 freuen dürfen. Und tatsächlich habe ich einige Jugendbuch-Ankündigungen (meist für Herbst 2016) gefunden, die echt spannend klingen:

Den Anfang macht eine lesbische Macbeth-Variante:

Robin Talley: As I Descended

Kristen Pettit at HarperCollins bought Lies We Tell Ourselves author Robin Talley’s As I Descended, a retelling of Macbeth set at a contemporary Virginia boarding school.

It centers around a lesbian couple who set out to dethrone the school’s resident Mean Girl, only to find themselves struggling to hang onto their sanity and their lives when they accidentally summon a trio of brutal, manipulative ghosts.

Klingt schräg, aber gut, oder? Das Buch ist für September angekündigt. Ihr könnt es bereits vorbestellen:

Kaufen bei Amazon

Der nächste Titel klingt zugegebenermaßen nicht nach Fantasy, okay, aber der Roman ist von einem Märchenplot inspiriert und deshalb soll er hier nicht unerwähnt bleiben:

Brie Spanger: Beast

A modern retelling of “Beauty and the Beast” in which the tallest, hairiest boy in town meets and falls for his dream girl, who also happens to be transgender:

„A witty, wise, and heart-wrenching novel that will appeal to fans of Rainbow Rowell and David Levithan.“

Tall, meaty, muscle-bound, and hairier than most throw rugs, Dylan doesn’t look like your average fifteen-year-old, so, naturally, high school has not been kind to him. To make matters worse, on the day his school bans hats (his preferred camouflage), Dylan goes up on his roof only to fall and wake up in the hospital with a broken leg—and a mandate to attend group therapy for self-harmers.

Dylan vows to say nothing and zones out at therapy—until he meets Jamie. She’s funny, smart, and so stunning, even his womanizing best friend, JP, would be jealous. She’s also the first person to ever call Dylan out on his self-pitying and superficiality. As Jamie’s humanity and wisdom begin to rub off on Dylan, they become more than just friends. But there is something Dylan doesn’t know about Jamie, something she shared with the group the day he wasn’t listening. Something that shouldn’t change a thing. She is who she’s always been—an amazing photographer and devoted friend, who also happens to be transgender. But will Dylan see it that way?

Kaufen bei Amazon

Tara Sim: Timekeeper

Every city in the world is run by a clock tower. If one breaks, time stops. It’s a truth that seventeen-year-old Danny knows well; his father has been trapped in a town east of London for three years. Despite being a clock mechanic prodigy who can repair not only clockwork, but time itself, Danny has been unable to free his father.

Danny’s assigned to a damaged clock tower in the small town of Enfield. The boy he mistakes for his apprentice is odd, but that’s to be expected when he’s the clock spirit who controls Enfield’s time. Although Danny and the spirit are drawn to each other’s loneliness, falling in love with a clock spirit is forbidden, no matter how cute his smiles are.

But when someone plants bombs in nearby towers, cities are in danger of becoming trapped in time—and Enfield is one of them.

Danny must discover who’s stopping time and prevent it from happening to Enfield, or else he’ll lose not only his father, but the boy he loves, forever

Timekeeper“ soll im November 2016 erscheinen und ist offenbar der erste Band einer Trilogie.

Kaufen bei Amazon

Ebenfalls ein Debüt und ebenfalls für November angekündigt ist

Audrey Coulthurst: Of Fire and Stars

A princess with a forbidden magical gift is shipped off to a neighboring kingdom to marry a prince, but she has to choose between her duty and her heart when she falls in love with his rogueish horse-training sister instead.

Audrey Coulthurst’s Of Fire and Stars pitched as Malinda Lo meets Game of Thrones, about a future queen who falls in love with her fiancé’s sister.

Über das Buch ist noch nicht viel bekannt und es ist auf Amazon auch noch nicht vorbestellbar, aber mich hat es trotzdem neugierig gemacht. Das könnte genau mein Ding sein.

Cover liegen per dato leider noch nicht vor.

Ich bin aber ziemlich sicher, dass ich über den einen oder anderen Titel im Lauf des Jahres noch berichten werde.

Habt ihr noch weitere Tipps für mich auf Lager?

Keine Kommentare »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. | TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

XHTML ( You can use these tags): <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong> .